On Tuesday 23 September the members of the Virgin Gorda Easter Festival sub-Committee shocked the Territory when they all resigned from the Committee that is tasked with organizing the annual spring festivities.

In the 18 September dated resignation letter that was leaked to the media it was noted that the decision to collectively resign was a unanimous one as the signature of all six members of the Committee’s was on the resignation letter  sent to Minister for Education and Culture Dr. the Hon. Natalio Wheatley, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education and Culture Caroline Igwe, Ninth District Representative, Hon. Vincent Wheatley and Chair of the Festival and Fairs Committee.

There was no indication of a fall out or any negativity. In fact, the Committee described their tenure as a learning experience that included challenges and opportunity. In fact, the members stated that they carried out their task with honesty and determination; and were passionate about their role despite “financial setbacks.”

Chairwoman of the Virgin Gorda Committee Lyra George stated: “The team I served with was very passionate, hardworking, honest, determined and resilient despite the drawbacks of financial setbacks and negativity received from the Virgin Islands Festival and Fairs Committee and the community alike. With all this we still maintained professional team effort and continued to contribute to our Virgin Islands and the Virgin Gorda community.”

The members of the Committee further indicated that they will always be available to assist their community whether in an official capacity or otherwise.