Two high risk BVI prisoners Repatriated from St. Lucia


St Lucian media are reporting that at least two BVI prisoners that were housed on that island have been repatriated to the Territory.

The news site News4orce reported on 16 April that two prisoners from the British Virgin Islands who were among the group transferred to the Bordelais Correctional Facility were transported back to Tortola.

News4orce in its article on the repatriation said: “…the detainees were repatriated after being placed on remand following successful appeals in the courts in their native lands in  connection with their respective cases.” The media also shared photos of what is alleged to be the BVI prisoners boarding a charter flight.

During the questions and answers segment of the House of Assembly in December Minister for Education and Culture, Hon. Myron Walwyn disclosed that Government is paying the Government of St Lucia $13,000 per month to house the prisoners who at that time he said were expected to return to the BVI last month.

Hon. Walwyn told the House that there is an agreement with the government of St. Lucia to have the BVI prisoners housed there until the repair works at Her Majesty’s Prison at Balsam Ghut are completed.

In response to Leader of the Opposition Hon. Andrew Fahie question about whether the cost to the St Lucian government is being subsidized Hon. Walwyn said: “I’m not aware of any assistance to be given at this time to defer the cost but, of course, we won’t refuse any offers to assist us.”

The Government of St Lucia following the damage of the Balsam Ghut facility by hurricane Irma offered to house the prisoners. As a result Cabinet made a decision to transfer 21 high risk inmates to that Caribbean island.

The prisoners who were transferred include: Andrew ‘Ratty’ Milton, Dennis ‘Soupy Campbell, Aaron George; Kareem Durante; Orlando Bonnick; Yan Edwards; Omarie Winter; Kenyatta Boynes; Alcedo Tyson; Devin Maduro; Deshawn Stoutt; Matthew Daniel Hazel; Jessroy McKelly; Jevone Demming; Sherman-Abdul Williams; Jerry Martin; Samuel Harris; Alberto Rosa De La Rosa; Lorne Parson; Allen Baptiste; and Shakoy Lavacia.