Seaborne To Have Code-Share With American, Delta And Jetblue


Government has lauded the new code-share agreement between Delta Airlines and Puerto Rico-based Seaborne Airlines. It was announced on 15 July that the two companies signed the agreement that is expected to provide customers of both air carriers with increased travel options to and from the United States and Caribbean.

During a press conference on Monday 18 July, Premier Dr. the Hon. D. Orlando Smith announced that Government was pleased to hear of the agreement which will strengthen the BVI’s airlift option. “This (the agreement) marks the first time in the aviation history of the Caribbean that one airline will operate with the three major brands doing business in the Caribbean,” Hon. Smith said.

“Seaborne will now have code-share agreements with American, Delta, and JetBlue – – providing ease of access to the BVI through a powerful distribution and reservations network as well as ticketing and baggage. The British Virgin Islands is an important part of the Seaborne network and important to their partner airlines,” Premier Smith added.

The code-share flights will connect to/from San Juan (SJU). Delta serves San Juan with four daily flights from Atlanta and five daily flights from New York-JFK during the peak season, with seasonal Detroit and Minneapolis/St. Paul to San Juan routes. With this agreement, customers flying to and from the Caribbean will be able to access Delta’s main hubs in the U.S., connecting to the rest of the world through its global network.

There will be Delta-coded Seaborne Airlines–operated routes to five new destinations in the Caribbean: Beef Island, British Virgin Islands (EIS), Dominica (DOM), Nevis, Saint Kitts and Nevis (NEV), Anguilla (AXA), and La Romana, Dominican Republic (LRM)