Hon. Walwyn And Dr. Charles Wheatley Honoured By Phi Theta Kappa


Minister for Education and Culture, Hon. Myron Walwyn and HLSCC’s President Emeritus and current Chairman of the Board, Dr. Charles H. Wheatley, OBE were inducted into the institution´s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honours Society.

In an announcement made on 12 May it was explained that Hon. Walwyn and Dr. Wheatley were honoured for their support and dedication to the chapter.

The ceremony also included the induction of eight new provisional members who were presented with certificates of acceptance into the Society. Additionally, 22 students were pledged as full members to the Society.

“Beta Omicron Sigma” is HLSCC´s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honours Society. Chartered on 28 May 2006, the programme started with five advisors and 31 students. Today, the chapter has over 100 students.

To be inducted, students are required to have at least 12 hours of degree course work and a minimum Grade Point Average of 3.6. To remain a member, students must maintain a minimum GPA of 3.5.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honour society of two-year colleges. It is the largest honour society in American higher education with more than two million members and 1200 chapters located in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany, and elsewhere, including at HLSCC in the British Virgin Islands.