Hon. Fraser Suggests Full Membership In Oecs


Third District Representative, Hon. Julian Fraser admonished that the Territory should be clear about its affiliation with the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).

Speaking in the House of Assembly on June 13, Hon. Fraser questioned the BVI’s participation level in the OECS, and told his colleagues: “If we are going to be part of the OECS let’s be part of the OECS, let’s be part of the OECS not half heartedly; not one foot in the door and the rest of our body is out. All the different headquarters and Organizations under the OECS are headquartered somewhere down in the Caribbean where are we in all of this?”

“Let’s do this, if you want to be part of the OECS be a part of the OECS, don’t just be here for convenience purposes that’s my point Madame Speaker,” the Third District Representative stated.

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) came into being on June 18th 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other and promote unity and solidarity among the Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed.

In mid 1997, as a result of restructuring of the organisation the Economic Affairs Secretariat was merged into and became a Division of the OECS Secretariat in St Lucia. The OECS is now a nine member grouping comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines. Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands are associate members of the OECS