Andrews, Christian Tops Mourant College Classic Series On Virgin Gorda

Award recipients in the finale of the 24th Mourant-HLSCC College Classic Series on Virgin Gorda

By Dean “The Sportsman” Greenaway

The curtains came down on the 24th Mourant HLSCC College Classic Series with the finale of the Virgin Gorda leg on Saturday, in a race in which HLSCC partnered with the Valley Sound Lions Club as the 20 participants also walked/ran to promote diabetes awareness.

Reuben Stoby, a two times overall Virgin Gorda male champion took the line first clocking 11 minutes 45.75 seconds, but it would be Curwin Andrews, second in 13:09.75, with three races under his belt that was crowned the 2019 overall male champion. This is the third time that Andrews has won the overall male title.

The top woman was Mariah Christian of Raw Skillz Track Club, fourth overall in 13:36.08, who has been very consistent in the series was crowned the overall female champion, as well as the HLSCC Outstanding student participant. 

In the Cross Country division, for a third consecutive year, Ciboney Centre for Excellence was crowned the Primary School Division champion as outstanding primary participant Eva Fox ensured participation by her school. In the Secondary School division Bregado Flax Educational Center’s Harrigan House, became the champions with Kaelyaah Liburd (Harrigan House) and Makelis Fergus (Rhymer House) crowned as outstanding female and male secondary participants, respectively.

 “The H. Lavity Stoutt Community College congratulates all awardees in Virgin Gorda with special appreciation extended to the Valley Sound Lions for their assistance during the finale and the awards ceremony,” Race Director Stephanie Russ Penn said. “The HLSCC College Classics Series would not be possible without our main sponsor Mourant, our water sponsor Blu Water, all volunteers, media support, especially Dean “The Sportsman” Greenaway and the assistance and support of the HLSCC Family.” 

Top finishers in the series finale. Men: 1. Reuben Stoby, 11 minutes 45.75 seconds. 2. Curwin Andrews, 13:09.75. 3. Emrol Amsterdam, 13:34.41. 4. Jermaine Abrams, 16:09.51. 5. Jaden Abrams, 18:16.63. 6. Jaron Abrams, 18:43.18. 

Women: 1. Mariah Christian, 13:36.08. 2. Makelis Fergus, 15:32.19. 3. Kaeliyah Liburd, 17:30.19. Dikya Thomas, 18:39.79.  

2019 Mourant HLSCC College Classic Series- Overall Awards

(Note: Participants must have competed in at least two competitive races to qualify for awards)

Two-Mile Overall Male Champion: 1. Curwin Andrews (3rd overall win)

Two-Mile Overall Female Champion: 2. Mariah Christian

Under 13 Girls: 1. Dikya Thomas

Under 13 Boys: 1. Jadon Abrams, 2. Jadon Abrams, 3. Jeh’velo Woodley

Under 15 Boys: T’Khoy Morton

Under 20 Females: 1. Mariah Christian (Outstanding HLSCC Student)

40-49 Males: 1. Jermain Abrams

50-59 Males: 1. Curwin Andrews, 2. Steve Bispham

Age 60-69 Males: 1. Emrol Amsterdam,  

Over 70 Females: 1. Christina Yates

Primary School Division: 1. Ciboney Centre for Excellence

Secondary School Division: 1. BFEC Harrigan House. 2. Rhymer House

Outstanding Primary Female: Eva Fox

Outstanding High School Female: Kaelyaah Liburd(2nd consecutive)

Outstanding High School Male: Makelis Fergus