74 Persons Receive Naturalisation Certificates | Island Sun

74 Persons Receive Naturalisation Certificates


Seventy-four individuals received their Certificates of Naturalisation through a series of socially distanced ceremonies on May 26 and 27.

The ceremonies were held in the Civil Registry and Passport Office’s lobby in cohorts of 12 persons and saw the new citizens, who can now be registered as British Overseas Territory’s Citizens (BOTC), reciting the Pledge of Loyalty to the Virgin Islands, as well as the Oath of Allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen.

The ceremonies were chaired by Registrar General, Mrs. Stephanie Benn who congratulated the recipients on their new citizenship and said that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, things have had to be done differently given the challenges presented through social distancing guidelines.

She said that the reciting of the Oaths is a legal component of the naturalisation process and has to be included with each ceremony and urged the recipients to take proper care of their certificates. 

Naturalisation is a process under the British Nationality Act of 1981 and the Virgin Islands Constitution Order of 2007 by which persons can become citizens of the Virgin Islands. Naturalised citizens become British Overseas Territory Citizens and as such, they may obtain a Virgin Islands passport and are eligible for a United States visa waiver; they can register and vote in elections in the Virgin Islands; and apply to register as a British Citizen of the United Kingdom.


Photo 1: Registrar General, Mrs. Stephanie Benn and Newly Naturalised Citizen

Photo 2: Naturalised Citizens reciting the Oaths

Photo Credit: GIS/Frankly Skerritt

Names of the newly naturalised citizens are:

  1. Keith Fenton
  2. Sebert White
  3. Janice Duncan
  4. Verna Telemaque-Nibbs
  5. Andrea Nickie
  6. Denia Vanterpool Vasquez
  7. Jorge Faulkner-Ramirez
  8. Denisha Ledgister-Penn
  9. Julia King-Chase
  10. Chantel Asson-Estridge
  11. Paulino Joseph
  12. William Driver
  13. Ishaba Bedford
  14. Deba Layne-Bharat
  15. Marcus Drigo
  16. Stephane Smith Green
  17. Maisa Said
  18. Dornamay Christian-Nelson
  19. Nelson Ramirez Bell
  20. Norma Gordon
  21. Amadona Creese
  22. Fay-Ann Cornwell
  23. Magnus Cornwell
  24. Hannah Glasgow
  25. Kevin Prince
  26. Akilah Corbin
  27. Joy Maloney
  28. Henry Peters
  29. Eudene Reid
  30. Rafael Del Rosario
  31. Vanessa Theophile
  32. Marva Forbes
  33. Rockell Richards-Pemberton
  34. Rupert Heyliger
  35. Paula Ambrose
  36. Natalie Ennis-Baptiste
  37. Brian Liverpool
  38. Lenroy Henry
  39. Floyd Isaac
  40. T’sa Hodge
  41. Rose Francis
  42. Robert Stone
  43. Basil Farquharson
  44. La Fleece Prince
  45. Patrick Mitchell
  46. Christine Nissen
  47. Anastacia Thomas-Donovan
  48. Ruth Phillip
  49. Janelle Jagdeo
  50. Vernon Williams
  51. Deslyn Williams
  52. Lyndon Stevens
  53. Cislyn Stevens
  54. Kanika Smith
  55. Patria Penn
  56. Rosa Paul de Nisbett
  57. Vandah Young-Glasgow
  58. Esran Glasgow
  59. Valcy Fergusson-Demming
  60. Myrna Burrell
  61. Jamoi Watson
  62. Jeni-Lee Joseph-Watson
  63. Ruth Robin
  64. Miranda Bain
  65. Randolph Bain
  66. Anita McMillian
  67. Flavia Edwards Dougan
  68. Gwendolyn Blake Hodge
  69. Mabel Neddall
  70. Andrea Starkey
  71. Mavis Rathanum
  72. Moonsammy Rathanum
  73. Joseph Caines
  74. Leslie Henry